shannon_waltWorking at BSW for the last 14 years has taught me a great deal and given me the opportunity to meet some of the most wonderful people in the world. While attending the WFX show in North Carolina recently, I made time to visit one of my favorite customers, Walt Howard of Sunrise Broadcasting. Walt and I have been talking to each other for nearly 13 years, but this was the first time we had met in person! It’s funny how you can be dear friends with someone without ever laying an eye on them.

Walt has been at Sunrise for about four years (before that he was the engineer at a group of stations in Alabama). Walt is the sole engineer for six stations in Wilmington, North Carolina. Busy as he is, he took the time to show me a couple of his transmitter sites, one of which is in the middle of a graveyard! Walt swears it is haunted, and unless there are a bunch of invisible hoot owls living in it, I’m inclined to believe him!

bsw_gatorBesides having six stations to take care of by himself (and one haunted transmitter), he also has to watch out for really big alligators. Once, he pulled over to the side of the road so I could see that he was not kidding with me. There, five feet from the truck, was a 12-foot gator just sitting in the shallow water. As we drove around, I saw many road signs warning you to not exit the vehicle lest you be eaten! Gators and ghosts. All in a day’s work for my brave friend, Walt!

2 thoughts

  1. Yes this is my big brother, brave, loyal and and always up to a challenge. I’ve never known him to back down from anything worth trying!!! He’s also the best and dearest friend I have ever had. He’s the greatest Big Brother anyone could possibly have. Thank you for seeing exactly what I see in him.

  2. I have worked with Walt on several projects, and I wish I could lure him back to Alabama.

    But would he give up alligators for snakes and wasps ?

    Don Roden WAAY-TV Huntsville, Alabama

Leave a Reply

