Selling…is…hard. If you don’t believe me, I challenge you to go try it. Earning a living by way of selling Radio Advertising is about as difficult as it gets. This isn’t an assumption on my part…I attempted to sell radio advertising for several years. It was the most challenging thing I have ever tried and one of the few things I can honestly say I was a complete failure at.  I am grateful that my true calling was selling audio gear TO radio stations. I’m also grateful that there are many Radio Advertising salespeople that are successful. Because of them, we are all employed in this wonderful industry.

As we continue to experience a challenging economy, take a moment and go thank your sales department for doing what they do. Selling Radio Advertising is a tough intangible. A tangible pat-on-the-back from you is appreciated every now and then. Even Herb would approve. You might get to wear his suave tie at the next convention.

3 thoughts

  1. Tim,

    Herb Tarlek is one of the all-time great characters in television. Coming from someone who has to “hit the streets” and sell radio, I agree with what you wrote. One of my favorite Herb lines; “You try to sell time to a client that’s sober. It can’t be done. Get rid of the booz, get rid of the business.” What a classic show – mb.

  2. Really? I seem to get flooded with email’s about how so-and-so sold a huge account, or lets welcome blah-blah-blah to our sales force.

    Never have a seen a single cluster-wide email about the engineering department. “congrats on the way our station sounds so we were able to kick butt in the last book..” nope.

    And when was the last Engineering retreat? Heck, when was the last time they gave Engineering ANYTHING?

  3. Point well taken regarding engineering and lack of acknowledgment. My simple response is sales people are the direct pipeline for the “income of the station”. Everyone else contributes to the “overhead”. It quickly becomes apparent why owners and management may show favoritism. I think all departments feel the same way as engineers do…which is under-appreciated, overworked, underpaid. So, if you don’t like it, go to work in the sales department. Spoken like a true owner huh? I can’t believe I just said that.
    I think engineers are truly appreciated when something goes wrong. Sales people are appreciated when something goes right. Therein exposes another problem.

Leave a Reply

